Soirées Rouges presents

Le Roi s’amuse – Music for the King’s Pleasure

Le Roi s’amuse – music for the King’s pleasure explores the repertoire that was enjoyed by Louis XIV and Louis XV in the Palace of Versailles between the late 17th and middle of the 18th centuries.
Focussing on compositions by some of the greatest Dancing Masters in France at this time, this programme introduces lots of toe-tapping dance movements by some little known and rarely heard composers who were at the height of their fame at the time. Concertos, suites and sonatas for flute, violins, cello and theorbo feature in this exciting programme from flautist Ashley Solomon and students from Historical Performance at the Royal College of Music.

Concert Programme:
Jean Marie Leclair ​​Deuxieme Recreation de musique
Marin Marais​​​ Les Voix Humaines
Joseph Bodin de Boismortier ​Trio Sonata in G minor Op.34 No.1
Jacques- Christophe Naudot ​Concerto in G Op.17 No.5
Jean Marie Leclair Sonata in A Major Op.3 No.2
Michel Blavet ​​​Flute concerto in a minor

Soirees Rouge muscians

“Solomon’s luminous tone and unfussy command of the complicated melodies conflate into something utterly beautiful.” Gramophone Magazine