• HOLES

    Wednesday 16th July 2014 - Saturday 9th August 2014

    "A future tragicomic hit" ★★★★ The Independent

  • THE NIGHTMARES OF CARLOS FUENTES

    Wednesday 23rd July 2014 - Saturday 16th August 2014

    "A powerful mix of sex games and sectarianism…..expertly directed, witty and rawly topical" ★★★★ The Independent

  • NAPOLEON BLOWN APART

    Tuesday 29th July 2014 - Saturday 2nd August 2014

    A new play with songs by Alex Brown and Daniel Saleeb.

  • GRIMEBORN: San Domino

    Monday 4th August 2014 - Wednesday 6th August 2014

    Based on the reality of Mussolini’s persecution of homosexuals, this is the story of men sentenced to five years confinement for degeneracy.

  • NOTHING TO SEE HERE

    Tuesday 12th August 2014 - Saturday 16th August 2014

    How powerful is your imagination, could it save your life? Do you ever think about your childhood imaginary friend? Join KimBo Theatre on an exploration of the power of their imaginations and yours.

  • GRIMEBORN: The Medium

    Thursday 14th August 2014 - Saturday 16th August 2014

    Composed in 1946, The Medium is an eerie story that follows the journey of a fraudulent psychic woman. Often referred to as a musical drama, The Medium appeals to both theatre, opera and even film audiences.

  • GRIMEBORN: Werther

    Tuesday 19th August 2014 - Saturday 23rd August 2014

    This tragic tale of forbidden love tells the story of a young poet, Werther, and his beautiful muse, Charlotte.

  • GRIMEBORN: Acis and Galatea

    Wednesday 20th August 2014 - Saturday 23rd August 2014

    Eboracum Baroque return to the Arcola Theatre to present Handel’s pastoral “little opera” Acis and Galatea, accompanied by a small orchestra of period instruments. 

  • GRIMEBORN: Madame X

    Monday 25th August 2014 - Wednesday 27th August 2014

    …we shall all be changed in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye…

  • GRIMEBORN: Women Box

    Tuesday 26th August 2014 - Thursday 28th August 2014

    Women Box is a triple bill of music theatre and opera co-produced by Size Zero Opera and the Ligeti Quartet celebrating the work of female composers through works celebrating the inclusion of Women's Boxing in the Commonwealth Games, and the rise of the female conductor!

  • LITTLE STITCHES

    Friday 29th August 2014 - Saturday 30th August 2014

    An estimated 66,000 woman have been affected by Female Genital Mutilation in the UK. Despite being criminalized nearly 30 years ago, there has only been a single prosecution.

  • GRIMEBORN: Shadows of Time - The 13th B'ak'tun

    Friday 29th August 2014 - Saturday 30th August 2014

    The protagonists of this performance – shadow puppets and a trio of amplified flute, cello & piano – tell the story of a planet travelling through time.

  • GRIMEBORN: The Coronation of Poppea

    Friday 29th August 2014 - Saturday 30th August 2014

    Ryedale Festival Opera return to Grimeborn with Monteverdi’s greatest opera - an ‘immorality tale’ of power, lust and corruption in Imperial Rome.

  • GRIMEBORN: Aikainen

    Monday 1st September 2014 - Wednesday 3rd September 2014

    Aikainen [ˈɑikɑinen] = early, about time

  • GRIMEBORN: Façade / Eight Songs for a Mad King

    Friday 5th September 2014 - Sunday 7th September 2014

    Do we need a little madness to set us free, or just a little freedom to be mad?

  • GHOST FROM A PERFECT PLACE by Philip Ridley

    Thursday 11th September 2014 - Saturday 11th October 2014

    Multi award-winning playwright Philip Ridley returns to the Arcola with his contemporary classic Ghost From A Perfect Place, a scorchingly dark comedy where a monster from the past meets the monsters of the present.

  • THE DOG, THE NIGHT AND THE KNIFE

    Thursday 18th September 2014 - Saturday 18th October 2014

    ‘I want to open my eyes, but they’re already open’